The Eightfold Path



The path leading to release from suffering, constituting the contents of the last of the Four Noble Truths. It is one of the thirty-seven limbs of enlightenment and encompasses all aspects of the threefold training.

The eight parts of the path are:

Perfect View
(i.e., the view based on understanding of the Four Noble Truths and the nonindividuality of existence)

Perfect Resolve
(i.e., resolve in favor of renunciation, good will, and non-harming of sentient beings)

Perfect Speech
(i.e., avoidance of lying, slander, and gossip)

Perfect Conduct
(i.e., avoidance of action that conflict with moral discipline)

Perfect Livlihood
(i.e., avoidance of professions that are harmful to sentient beings, such as slaughterer, hunter
, dealer in weaponry or narcotics, etc,)

Perfect Effort
(i.e., cultivation of what is karmically wholesome and avoidance of what is karmically unwholesome)

Perfect Mindfulness
(i.e., ongoing mindfulness of body, feeling, thinking, and objects of thought)

Perfect Concentration
(i.e., concentration of mind that finds its highpoint in the four absorptions)




Home  |  Healing Services  |  Store  |  FAQ  |  Contact Me  |  Cool Stuff